Positive changes

If you were suddenly independently wealthy, how would you spend your time? What positive change would you bring to the world?

I would travel and experience life to the fullest- take risks, go on adventures, see all the sites. I would spoil the people I love by helping them pay bills and go on some much-needed vacations. I wouldn’t have to worry about working to pay bills, so I could spend all my time helping the people that need it the most. I would adopt or foster lots of kids- especially the teens that are “troubled” and least likely to get put in a stable, positive, nurturing environment. I would help children that are neglected or going through difficult situations. I would take care of sick, hurt and abandoned stray animals and pets at shelters. I would try to create awareness of issues in the world so people can come together and solve them- hunger, poverty, homelessness. People tell me I’m too sensitive, I wear my heart on my sleeve, etc. I think more people should be like that, and I get offended when that is portrayed as a negative thing. Maybe I cry a lot or get upset, but that shows I care. Too many people walk around ignoring the people around them that are hurting. They work in corporations side by side for years, and never truly get to know each other. People just need someone to talk to, to not feel alone. If everyone cared about things as much as I do, more things would get done. Sometimes I just feel so hopeless because I don’t have a lot of money, and I’m struggling day to day in order to make ends meet. It is exhausting and stressful. I get burned out and breakdown, causing the ones around me that I love (mainly my amazing fiance) to get worried or try to take on my problems to relieve me. I want to be a part of something bigger, something that can make a difference. The reason I decided to be a teacher was to reach kids, like my teachers did for me. My experience was very disheartening however. I felt like the responsibility of raising kids and teaching basic managers was put on teachers instead of parents. The FCAT made everyone focus on “gains” and grades. There’s too much lesson planning, worksheets, assessment, to even get to know the kids and reach them in the way that’s best for them. So maybe I can do journalism and expose these type of issues and help people? But even for an unpaid internship, I need to have taken a bunch of classes, published articles, and had so many years of experience… I feel lost, like I took a few too many steps back, and now I’m in the same position I was when I was just starting college and trying to figure out what I want to be when I “grow up.” There’s so many things that I want to do if I had the time and money. So many things that I enjoy, but have no idea what kind of job would incorporate them, and how I could go about getting into a job with no experience, because let’s face it, bills still need to be paid. I have a list of free online classes to look into in order to gain some knowledge and experience to help in my quest, and have posted the links below for anyone else interested. Good luck! 

https://www.coursera.org/courses?orderby=upcoming&lngs=en&cats=arts,business,education,economics,food,health,humanities,law,music

 

Leave a Reply

